University of Connecticut University of UC Title Fallback Connecticut

Top Questions


1. W
hat is HuskyCT?

HuskyCT is UConn’s name for the Blackboard learning management system used here. Instructor use of the system is optional but we host over 4000 HuskyCT sites a semester, most of which are used for face-to-face classes. Fully online classes use HuskyCT as well. The use of HuskyCT is so widespread in fact, that students expect to see a HuskyCT site for each class they are taking and are worried when they don’t. A recent survey revealed that the most common uses of HuskyCT for traditional classes is sending announcements, posting content, and posting grades. Many instructors are also using HuskyCT for the online submission of assignments, discussion, and quizzes.

2. How do I get a HuskyCT site for my class?

HuskyCT sites are requested by instructors of record using the Student Admin System (PeopleSoft). The HuskyCT site is created automatically within 24 hours of the request and all students registered for the course are automatically enrolled on the HuskyCT site. Please note that the instructor must be listed in PeopleSoft as the instructor for a particular class in order to request a HuskyCT site for that class. HELP FILE for requesting a HuskyCT site

3. How do I “reactivate” my old HuskyCT site?

If an instructor is teaching a course again and HuskyCT was used in a previous term for that same class, it is possible to have the old site content copied into the HuskyCT site for the upcoming term. This requires two steps. FIRST, the instructor must request their NEW HuskyCT site using PeopleSoft. SECOND, the instructor needs to fill out the course content restore form. Please note that this content restore will bring over all instructor posted content, assignments, tests, grade center columns, and discussion board forums. It will not bring over old student data and it will not bring over Library Reserve materials used previously. The Library Resources link in the new site needs to be used to “import” those materials. CLICK HERE to access the Content Restore Form

4. Why does it say “unavailable until…” next to my course title?

Each term, there is an official start date for classes. This date is used to set the student access date for all HuskyCT sites for that term.  The “Unavailable until…” message applies only to students. Instructor access is not date restricted.

5. How do I give the students early access?

If an instructor wants to open a HuskyCT site earlier than the default start date this is easily done by changing the “Properties” of the site. See these INSTRUCTIONS for changing student access date.

6. How do I add my syllabus and other files?

This is done using the “Build Content” button at the top of a Content Area such as the “Course Overview and Syllabus” page that is part of the default HuskyCT course template.  From the “Build Content” drop-down menu, click on “File”. After this you will just need to browse for the file on your computer. It’s an easy as doing an email attachment. View MORE INFORMATION on building your site.

7. Why can’t the students see the files I posted?

Occasionally, instructors go directly to the “Content Collection” in the Control Panel and upload their files there. These files cannot be accessed by the students, however, because only instructors can see the options under the Control Panel. Students will not be able to see these files until they are linked to a page on the HuskyCT site.  Instructors need to create or go to a Content Area or Content Folder and add the files there. INSTRUCTIONS for adding content to a HuskyCT site.

8. How do I add the Discussion Board tool?

All new HuskyCT sites have 4 links in the left-hand navigation menu. These are Announcements, Overview and Syllabus, Library Resources, and My Grades. Instructors can add other tool links or content areas to this menu using the “+” icon at the upper left of the menu. This process would be used to add the Discussion Board tool, or other tools such as Blogs, Journals, Wikis, Course Messages, Email, and Calendar. See INSTRUCTIONS

9. How do I add my TA?

Instructors have the ability to enroll additional users on their HuskyCT sites. Most frequently this function is used to add a TA or another instructor, but anyone with a UConn NetID can be manually added to a HuskyCT site.
See INSTRUCTIONS

10. How do I hide my old course?

At the present time, instructors will see all their HuskyCT sites since the new system was implemented in Fall 2012. To prevent confusion, it is recommended that instructors hide their old course titles from view.
See INSTRUCTIONS for this process.

11. How do I get rid of all my old Announcements?

If you have had HuskyCT content restored from a prior semester, your old announcements may have come over as well. Instructors can delete this one-by-one, or they can contact irchelp@uconn.edu and request that the old announcements be deleted. Now when instructors request a course restore, they can easily indicate whether they want their old announcements to come over or not.

12. Is there a Student View?

Instructors can use “Student Preview” to view their sites exactly as their students see them.  When exiting Student Preview, instructors have the choice of retaining the preview user data or not. If the Preview User data is retained, a new student will appear in the Grade Center. The last name for this preview student account will be the instructor’s last name followed by “_PreviewUser”.  Student Preview mode can be used to take tests, submit assignments, access materials, and check grades.
Please visit Blackboard’s help for more information about Student Preview

Return to top